Be Still and Know Part 3 of 3

“Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

maxresdefault.jpg

Quiet time is one of the most amazing things you get to experience with God. Learning to listen and talk, to have a real conversation with God.

If you have not yet read the previous 2 posts, I would suggest that you read them first before reading this one.

 

This post will focus on the how of quiet time.

 

I’m sure you are wondering by now why are we focusing on relationship with God when all you want to know is how to pray for your Boaz or Ruth and end up getting married at the end of the day.

Well, the secret ingredient to any successful relationship and marriage is to have God as your foundation and friendship as your pillars.

What does it mean to have God as the foundation of the relationship and marriage?

It means to have a relationship with God himself, to have God as the centre focus of your life, and to make him the centre and main focus of your marriage. Any relationship built on God will last forever.

To build a relationship one needs to have quiet time daily with God, to give him the opportunity to respond to all your questions and prayers and speak to you in person, and to explain the Bible to you.

 

“Everyone who hears these words of mine and does them will be like a wise man who built his house on the rock. And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house, but it did not fall, because it had been found on the rock.” Matthew 7:24-25

 

Who is the rock?

“The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.” Psalm 18:2

ff2b36a880613e0327f836d9a7bc8b24

We need to make God part of our daily lives, make him the rock of our lives, the foundation on which all of our friendships and relationship stand. To do this, we need to make time for God each and every single day of our lives.

As discussed in the previous blog, scripture suggests that early in the morning is the best time to talk to God. For those of you who have never done this before, start with 10 minutes, and when you feel comfortable with it after a few weeks, add another five minutes. And keep doing this every few weeks until you reach half an hour, or an hour or more.

4fbfb3a407a7ff2bcd3aa1acbfda50a6

Quiet time is all about becoming still (letting go of all your thoughts, fears, ideas, demands, etc) and allowing God to speak to you, to comfort and love you, to respond to your prayers and answer your question.

Becoming still is to develop the ability to listen and hear the voice of God and to feel the Holy Spirit presence. It is to see visions. It is to press the “pause” button on your life and giving God a chance to be with you and to heal you and change you.

big_thumb.jpg

Make sure to keep your Bible and journal and a pen nearby. No, quiet time is not about Bible study. Quiet time is about listening to God. But you keep your Bible nearby in case God decides to speak to you through scripture.

Use your journal to write down anything you see, hear or feel/experience. Do not try to reason out whether you heard right or wrong – just write it down. With time and practice you will learn to recognise the difference between God’s voice, the devil’s voice and your own voice.

You’ll soon notice that your need for asking prophets and friends to hear for you for an answer from God will start to disappear, diminish, completely. Why? Because you are now beginning to talk to God directly and he no longer needs to talk to you through others.

never-underestimate-the-power-of-god-quote-1

I had a rather incredible moment the other day with God, something I most certainly did not expect.

I had just finished band practice before church and I joined the prayer group in the church’s upper room. I was feeling a little despondent with my keyboard as the peddle didn’t want to function properly and we were beginning to suspect that the problem might be with the keyboard itself. I honestly was enjoying playing the keyboard, but it is a bit bothersome for a musician when their instrument’s sound comes out wrong.

2-anointed-handsl-copy

So, I prayed to Jesus and I said, “Lord, I cannot fix my keyboard and I am incapable of making its sound function properly. Could you please step in tonight and take over the worship? Could you take charge of the sound, and if necessary, make the people deaf to the keyboard’s malfunctioning?”

Suddenly I saw Jesus appear before me, light shining brightly around him. I experienced so much warmth pouring out of his body and so much love coming out of his eyes. In a very gentle voice he said to me, “Stretch out your hands.” I put out my hands before me, palms up, and Jesus took my hands in his and said, “I have anointed your hands and every musicians’ hand with my Holy Spirit and my love. You need not worry, I will move and touch my people tonight. I trust you with the sound of music, and my power will carry the sound to the people’s hearts. You just play, and I will do the rest. Trust me.”

2e96068631afc720400c2c88949ce456.jpg

So much peace settled down on me and I knew that I need not worry.

The worship that Sunday evening was so powerful and so amazing that even the band and I could feel how the Holy Spirit’s presence came down into the church and moved among us all.

 

Be still and know that he is God. (Psalm 46:10)

69b96ca9626ef108b523dd1c77313d70

 

Leave a Reply

