Matters of Inspiration

I have been going through a really rough time the last while. Having to make several tough decisions, work through several hurts with the family, and making peace with the past. I was taught in Counseling Class for the past 2 years these simple words:

Face, Trace, Erase, Replace.

inspire2

Face the problem, pain, past, truth or whatever it is that needs to be faced and admit that it is there, it does exist, and it is true.

Trace the root cause of where that thing comes from – who is responsible for causing it, who is the victim, why was it done, how was it done, when was it done, and what was the consequences thereof. Deal with those issues, apologise and forgive the necessary person, admit your part in it.

Erase any lies that you’ve been told, whether someone told it or you spoke those lies or if Satan told them, erase those lies. Know that you have repented and are forgiven by God. You have been washed clean by Christ through his blood that was spilled on the cross. Know that it is part of the past and does not define who you have become today and where you are going in your life. any labelling given by people must be shaken off. Time to let go of the hole you’ve landed in, whether someone pushed you into that hole or you put yourself in there, time to let go off that place you became comfortable in. Discover who you are again, what is your identity, and what you were called to do.

9388cab0659f6ce1debaa3f9977bf4b0-200x300

Once you have that clean slate from all the erasing, it is time to Replace – with the truth and the love of the Holy Spirit. Put into practice all that you have learned about who you are and what your identity is in Christ. Have the courage to step out and pursue what you know is right and true. Make the necessary changes and improvements. Apply what you learn out of the Bible and make it part of your life. Stay strong, be brave, and pursue the things you lost or never had the chance for, do not give up when things go wrong or if things become difficult. Make the most of the lessons learnt through the Face and Trace phases.

In First Year Counseling and the beginning of this 2nd year Counseling I did a lot of Facing Tracing in my life, and it was tough some days. It involved a lot of tears, a lot of arguing, and a lot of bad days. Some days I didn’t even want to get out of bed. Last year I had to find out that some of my organs, namely my liver wouldn’t was slowing down, getting ready to pack up, as my thyroid gland was completely inactive, and I was permanently ill with severe colds and flues. Thankfully my health has been sorted out and taken care of, and my life has improved significantly.

repeat-after-me

However, the last two months have been even harder than the 18 months before that, as I was working through the Erase and Replace phases. Never in my most wildest of dreams would I have thought how hard it is to go through the Erase and Replace process, and I understand why the lecturer said, “Most people only go through Face and Trace, but never Erase and Replace, because those last two are the hardest.”

Of late I’ve been struggling a lot with the idea that I could inspire people with what I know, what I’ve learned and from where I come. All I can see are my mistakes and wonder how I ended up where I am today (nowhere near where I originally hoped to be by this age). What could I possibly say to inspire people? What could people possibly learn from someone as messed up as me?

One morning last week I switched on the radio on the way to work, something I normally don’t do, as I prefer to pray on the way to work. And on the radio was an old sermon of Pastor Ed Roebert, where he said, “No matter where you are in life, no matter how down you are, God can still use you to make a difference.”

I was then reminded by something his son, Andrew, said a few years ago on the same radio station. He was going through a very difficult time, things were not going well. He then decided to start an emailing process where he could encourage people – give them the very things that he needed most. His emails became very popular and inspired many people and changed their lives. In the process, they thanked and encouraged him in return.

“But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong;so that no human being might boast in the presence of God.so that, as it is written, “Let the one who boasts, boast in the Lord.” – 1 Corinthans 1:27, 29, 31

to-inspire

Bless and be blessed. Inspire and be inspired.

So that is what I am going to do. Give what I have, let God do the rest. And together, we can inspire and change people’s lives.

Do you want to join me in this endeavour?

10946366_1544631995807926_1391539715_n

Leave a Reply

