Patience and Peace

I have been unusually busy this whole week, and so I will only be able to make a post on the follow-up of “Who’s Voice Is It? Part 2” this coming weekend. I had one of those moments in life where God said that he would answer many of my prayers and fulfil his promises this year, but everything seems to keep going wrong and the opposite keeps happening. I know he asked to take me on the adventure of my life – but I had no idea that’s part of what an adventure would be like; difficult, rough and tough (you’re probably thinking, “Duh!”).

11150733_835879233144119_2987158887167278911_n

Everything that could go wrong, has gone wrong so far this year, and I was feeling very down about everything of late. In fact, I began questioning my sanity and if I really heard God’s voice; whether it was my voice saying what I desire and hope to have for this year.

Last week God told me that I needed to take a 2-week Sabbath from church, cell group and any other get-togethers, to quiet my mind and heart. Even though it has only been a week now, I have been experiencing a deep peace unlike anything I have had in a long time. Then yesterday morning on my way to work, I decided to tell God how frustrated and miserable I felt about everything, what my worries and concerns were for my family and myself. Then I reminded him of what he said to me concerning this year. In response, he reminded me of a prophetic word given to me in March: “Patience, patience, patience.” 5JunePat Immediately I became deflated, and realised that I was trying to rush things again. Maybe because I know I am within arms-length of those things that I’ve been waiting for. I can practically smell it and see it, so close it. Still, I have to be patient enough to wait until I can actually embrace it and call it my own. I gave it all back to God, asked him to continue protecting, providing and guiding my family. I told him I will step back, give him space to do what needs doing, and trust that in his time all things will fall in place.

Sometimes, just sometimes, we can be the ones that are standing in God’s way, blocking and preventing what God is trying to do. That is sometimes the only reason why our prayers do not get answered, because we are too busy trying to do it in our own strength and rush the procedure, sticking our nose in God’s business and our fingers in other people’s affairs, hoping to solve the problems. Let me remind you of three verses:

“Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him and he will act.” – Psalm 37:5

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.” – Psalm 3:5

“But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.” Romans 8:25 blogger-image--2146065356 So I let go, and let God have his way. And the first miracle began last night at 6:30pm – a phone call that I have been waiting a very, very long time for. And if all goes well next week, it will be the phone call that changed my life forever.

May God change your life, answer your prayers and make your dreams come true, as we learn to wait patiently and step aside to give God the room to do what He does best – miraculous things.

God bless you on your journey through life.

Leave a Reply

